Web Browser

Thursday, June 20, 2013

Samsung Galaxy and Ativ event: Join CNET on Thursday (live blog)

Samsung is set to unveil its latest addition to its Ativ range and talk more about its new Galaxy S4 phones on Thursday, and we'll be there to bring you all the latest news.
The press conference is taking place in London's Earls' Court and starts at 7 p.m. U.K. time, which translates to 2 p.m. ET or 11 a.m. PT. We will open up the live blog 15 minutes beforehand to set the scene. I will be there with Luke Westaway, Andrew Hoyle and Marc Ganley, with up-to-the-second news, pictures and video from the event.
In terms of unannounced products, we're expecting to see something from Samsung's Ativ range, which is the brand the company applies to products that run Windows. So we could see a new phone or tablet, although a new flagship laptop seems the most likely outcome.
Also on the cards is a new Samsung Galaxy NX camera running Androidpictures of which leaked last week. The leaked images showed a mirrorless camera with interchangeable lenses, with a rear touch screen running software that looks very similar to that of theGalaxy S4.One piece of trivia I always like wheeling out is that Samsung chose the Ativ name because it is the Latin for life, "vita," but backwards. Yes, really.
We're also expecting to hear more about three models Samsung has recently announced: the Galaxy S4 Active, a waterproof, ruggedized phone; the Galaxy S4 Zoom, an Android phone with a 10x zoom lens on the back; and the Galaxy S4 Mini, a phone that has some of the features of the normal Galaxy S4, but with a smaller screen and cheaper innards to help keep the cost down.
Other possibilities include the recently unveiled Galaxy Tab 3, a tablet that comes in 10-inch or 8-inch varieties, and the Galaxy Ace 3, a 4-inch, cheap-ish Android phone.
Post a Comment